Welcome to Williams, Arizona, located in the heart of the Kaibab National Forest at an elevation of 6,770 feet.

Founded in 1880, Williams was named for the famous trapper, scout and mountain man, "Old Bill Williams." A statue of "Old Bill" can be visited at Monument Park, located on the west side of the city. The large mountain directly south of town is named Bill Williams Mountain.

Also known as the "Gateway to the Grand Canyon®," Williams was the last town in America on Historic Route 66 to be bypassed by Interstate 40. The community, bypassed on Oct. 13, 1984, continues to thrive on tourism.

Boasting seven area fishing lakes, hiking trails up Bill Williams Mountain and down Sycamore Canyon, an alpine ski area and cross country ski trails, four seasons weather, and an abundance of wildlife, Williams offers unlimited recreational opportunities for the outdoor enthusiast.

The Historic Downtown District covers six square blocks and includes the Grand Canyon Railway Depot and Hotel. There is something for everyone in Williams, Arizona. The town boasts a rich heritage that features the Old West and Route 66 coupled with tourism trends today and the town's heyday years of the '50s and '60s.

For more information that will lead to a delightful stay in Williams, contact the Williams-Forest Service Visitors' Center at (928) 635-4061.

Elephant RR Museum Route 66